top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoya Sh

Meet Your Inner Child: Healing through Recognition and Understanding

We understand that the relationship with primary caregivers significantly influences adult relationships, forming the basis of attachment theory. In the first eighteen months of life, various attachment styles develop:

1. Secure: The relationship is secure, stable, and positive. In adults, secure attachments look like individuals who are comfortable with emotional intimacy, can trust their partners, and effectively communicate their needs and feelings. They are generally self-assured in relationships, able to provide and receive support without fear of abandonment.

2. Anxious: Mismatch between child's needs and parental attention, leading to difficulty in soothing and feeling safe. Adults with anxious attachment may crave closeness, fear rejection, and often seek reassurance from their partners. They may experience heightened anxiety about the stability of their relationships and may sometimes engage in behaviors to test their partner's commitment.

3. Avoidant: Parents are disconnected, and children can't rely on them for meeting needs. Adults with avoidant attachment tend to value independence and may struggle with emotional intimacy. They may be uncomfortable with closeness and may subconsciously create emotional distance in relationships, often preferring self-reliance.

4. Disorganized: Lack of predictability in the child's response to caregivers, often associated with childhood trauma and neglect. Adults with disorganized attachment may exhibit erratic patterns in relationships, experiencing difficulty in forming a coherent sense of self within a partnership. This attachment style may lead to challenges in managing stress and navigating emotions within relationships.

Understanding Inner Child Wounds: 

A sentence here connecting the above attachment with inner child wounds


Understanding these attachment styles can offer profound insights into how our inner child wounds, stemming from early experiences with primary caregivers, continue to influence our adult relationships and emotional responses.


Inner child wounds stem from unmet emotional, physical, and spiritual needs in childhood. These needs manifest in our present selves through subconscious expressions.  A sentence here connecting  how these archetypes develop as a coping mechanism to create safety/have needs met. However, this does not help as an adult      

As coping mechanisms, attachment archetypes develop during childhood to create a sense of safety and fulfill unmet needs. However, these strategies, formed in response to early experiences, may prove ineffective in adulthood, hindering our ability to establish healthy relationships and navigate life's challenges.


The 7 Inner Child Archetypes:


1. The Caretaker: Derives identity and self-worth from neglecting personal needs, believing love comes from catering to others.     In childhood, they may have experienced a lack of attention and affirmation, leading them to believe that self-sacrifice is the path to affection.

2. The Overachiever: Seeks validation through success and achievement, coping with low self-worth by relying on external recognition. In childhood, they experienced. In childhood they might have experienced conditional love, driving them to believe that their value is contingent on constant accomplishments.

3. The Underachiever: Fears criticism and shame, remains beneath their potential to avoid failure, thinking invisibility is the key to love. In childhood, they experienced ..In childhood they might have faced harsh judgment, leading them to believe that being unseen is a protective strategy.

4. The Secure/Protector: Tries to heal vulnerability by rescuing others, gaining love and self-worth through a position of power. In childhood, they experienced .. In childhood, they may have experienced a lack of protection, leading them to adopt a role of strength to shield themselves and others.

5. The Life of the Party: Presents a cheerful facade to mask emotional pain, believing that ensuring everyone around them is happy is the only way to feel okay. In childhood, they experienced .. In childhood, they might have faced challenges in expressing their true emotions, leading them to believe that constant joy is a shield against vulnerability.

6. The Yes-Person: Sacrifices personal needs for others, molded by childhood patterns of self-sacrifice and deep codependency. In childhood, they experienced ..In childhood, they may have experienced conditional love, fostering a belief that meeting others' needs is the only way to receive love.

7. The Hero Worshiper: Seeks a person or guru to follow, stemming from a wound caused by a perceived superhuman caretaker, rejecting personal needs to emulate others. In childhood, they experienced .. In childhood, they might have experienced a lack of autonomy, leading them to seek safety and identity through others.

Meeting Your Inner Child:

1. Accept the presence of your inner child in your adult life, even if you can't recall much of your childhood.

2. Acknowledge that your inner child is wounded. Avoid downplaying your experiences by recognizing that the child's perspective differs from your current adult viewpoint.

3. Embrace acceptance of your inner child wound to alleviate shame surrounding disappointment and the inability to change.

4. Understand that your inner child is not your essence; it is a part of you that requires exploration to understand its communication.

5. Reflect and witness your inner child, writing a letter to identify which of the 7 inner child archetypes dominate the situation.

Summary of all: Practicing self-witnessing and recognizing recurring narratives is crucial for adults. The goal of inner child work is to liberate the childlike part, fostering wonder and connecting it to the inner wisdom of our authentic selves.

By acknowledging and understanding your inner child, you embark on a journey towards healing and self-discovery.


2 views0 comments


bottom of page